Dar won the David Shepherd Trophy for the third time

Muhammad Naeem September 13, 2011 1

One again Pakistan umpire Aleem Dar has beaten Steve Davis,
Ian Gould and five-time winner Simon Taufel and won the David Shepherd trophy
for the Umpire of the Year, for the third time in a series from last year, at
the ICC Awards annual function in London.

Fourt three years old Pakistani umpire Aleem Dar, who stands
in 18 T20, 146 ODI and 66 Test Matches, officiated in five Tests and 13 ODIs
during the voting period – August 11, 2010 to August 3, 2011 – The World Cup
final between India and Sri Lanka was included.

Aleem Dar was voted to the award by the 10 Full Member
captains as well as the eight-man elite panel of match referees.

Aleem Dar said, “It’s a great honour and I’m thankful
to everyone at the ICC and also my colleagues on the Elite Panel of ICC umpires
along with the Pakistan Cricket Board. He also said that I’d like to also thank
all my family for all their support since I’m away nearly eight months of the
year umpiring.”

One Comment »

  1. Sana Dar September 15, 2011 at 5:55 PM - Reply

    Aleem Dar really desrve this

Leave A Response »

one + 2 =